Thursday, July 1, 2010

EARLY OF A MORNING- by TWO

Usually I wake up early every morning or as my Grandmother always said…(early of a morning).. I just love the early morning time , it is my time… I always am reminded of that phrase in Psalms
The wings of the morning…. (don’t ask me the chapter and verse I just remember the phrase.) One thing I love about the early morning is the quiet, and I get to do anything I want to without considering anyone else, and knowing that it is a new day, never ever been used before… and it starts off with no mistakes in it.. of course it doesn’t take long for all that to change… For instance as soon as I open my bedroom door the cat (LUCKY) is standing there ready to beg for food… he is always hungry… and will not let me alone until I have given him one of everything available. Then he has to have full time attention by climbing all over me and wanting to be petted etc… then he wants out and then he wants in again, and so the day begins with not everything perfect… however if I stay in my room for a while I do get to enjoy the Wings of the Morning for a while…
This morning was a little different… I have been waking up at 4:00 every day for a long time now… and the first thing that pops into my head is… what day is it… and what do I have to do today…
Well this morning I woke up as usual and the first thought I had was, it’s July… and then horrors of horrors I thought…. What happened to Queen’s birthday..???? Oh no, I forgot it again this year… how could this happen to me two years in a row???? I forgot it last year too…What in the world???? The first thing I thought of is what excuse do I have?? What could be the reason for this?? And what can I blame it on… I quickly began to formulate my excuses and reasons and am still thinking on the blame thing….
Excuses
No. One…Since I don’t work anymore, I don’t keep up with the date…. I usually know the day of the week… but since I don’t write tickets all day long with the date on them..well I just don’t pay much attention to the actual date…of course I know whether it is the first of the month or the middle or the end usually…
No. Two… Since we pay the bills on line now… I don’t write checks with the date on them…
No. Three… Since I don’t belong to any clubs or such I don’t have to keep up with a certain date…
No. Four…. Since I moved the calendar clock that was right in my view, I don’t have any idea about the date…
No. Five… The excuses are getting pretty slim and probably it’s time to think of some reasons…
Reasons….
No. One… I had to go across town to see a friend and have lunch with her…I had been putting this off for a very long time because I just hate getting on the interstate and driving across town for nearly an hour , fighting all that crazy traffic and getting in a slow down from a wreck and big ole trucks always getting in front of me.. so that I can’t see anything ahead.. all that kind of stuff just makes me a “nervous wreck”… (I will ramble here for just a moment and tell you a quick story about being a nervous wreck.)
One time years ago when my kids were little… I scraped the back fender on the station wagon when I was backing into a parking place and there was a short pole I didn’t see.. The kids and some of their friends were all in the car and they just started jumping all around (no seat belts or special little seats then) and yelling and wanting to know “what happened, what happened.” I yelled at them to sit down and be quiet because we had a “wreck”… Everyone got real quiet… and then the oldest and most literal one… said, Momma was that a regular wreck or a nervous wreck?? That was when I realized I was always telling them they were making me a nervous wreck…
So back to my reason… The trip across town was the day of the Queen’s birthday… and all the traffic and the visit with the friend and the lunch and the trip back where I had to go over Spaghetti junction
Which is the most fearsome junction that goes over (up high) all the interstate below… and my fear of heights and bridges and such kicks in… and then when safely home no thought entered my head about the date or anything else… Just Praise the Lord I made it back… (pretty good reason , sounds good to me anyway.)
No. Two.. I am getting older and much more forgetful… 73 … what can you expect..??
No. Three… I forgot to turn the page on the permanent birthday calendar that my mother had… I keep it hanging on the wall of the pantry and each month you flip the page over to the next month and then you see everyone’s birthday recorded … It was still on the Month of May… Guess I missed several other June b’days… oh well, I am going on 74…
So now I will place the blame .
I think it was George Bush’s fault… I’m not sure why, but WHY NOT… One more blame can’t matter much to him…
I have done the best I can to explain my lapse in consciousness… even I don’t understand it.. But one thing is for sure.. this day started out with one big mistake already in it.
So I wish to ask for another chance next year to do better… but I will be going on 75 by then so don’t be surprised if I have to apologize again next year.
I hope the Queen had a really great day and will have many, many more…
I used to be a good sister... try to remember the good ole days…
To the Queen from TWO … glad you are my sister and no one else could do it better.. I just think every girl should have a sister… but it needs to be a real good one like you…Happy late birthday to you..

Sorry …. TWO

1 comment:

  1. When Guitar Boy was 3, he once told me I was "getting on his nervous."

    ReplyDelete